Independents - Federal Election 2019

This blog will continue to grow, at least until after the next election:

(Independents & meaningful cross-benchers)

ACT Senate @AnthonyPesec

Chisholm @juliabanksmp

Cowper @RobOakeshott1

Denison @WilkieMP 

Hume @Huw4Hume

Independents for Climate Action Now (ICAN)

Indi @Indigocathy NOT STANDING

Indi @HelenHaines1

Kooyong  @_Oliver_Yates

Lyne @JeremyforLyne

Mackellar @Indy_Ally

Mallee @MalleeRay

Mayo @MakeMayoMatter

New England

NSW Senate (Byron) Jim Tait  @;

NSW Senate Annette Schneider  @ @;>

NSW Senate (Central Coast) @; @FrBower

NSW Senate (Northern NSW) @john_JustFacts

QLD Senate Dr Andy Lewis;

Robertson @digitdave

SA Senate @storertim NOT STANDING

The Independents @kwingerei

VIC QLD Senate Paul Wittwer;

Warringah @smoylancoombs

Warringah @zalisteggall

Wentworth @drkerrynphelps


FINALLY… We are across the line with our registration, ready to campaign for the May 18th Federal Election. Thank you for all your support getting us this far.

We are now proud to announce our Senate candidates’ nominees.

Fr Rod Bower is best known for his politically charged billboard displays in front of his church on the New South Wales central coast. He is much loved nationally for his humanitarian and climate stance. According to Fr Rod "The climate emergency is the most important human rights issue of our time."

A career spanning 32 years as an environmental consultant, Jim Tait has long been concerned with climate change and this has led him to found Independents for Climate Action Now. Believing evidence-based science is the answer to navigating through the climate crisis, we need to unite as one strong voice across the political spectrum.

Activist to the core, Annette Schneider has been a Knitting Nanna and front-line warrior for our environment for many years. She has now decided to put her passions for the environment and equal rights into politics.


With a career centred around our ecology in the tourism sector, Paul Wittwer is a true educator with a keen focus on invoking change amongst our politicians.


A marine scientist and small business owner on the Great Barrier Reef, Dr Andy Lewis is committed to building long-term economic and ecological prosperity for our people and nation.

Today is also the launch of our crowd funding campaign: to make this a success, we need you, our climate warriors, to donate generously and email the crowd funding campaign to all your climate concerned friends and colleagues.

This is a grass roots political campaign and we cannot do it without your help.
We encourage you share our fundraiser link to as many local community groups and social media sites as possible. Visit our crowdfunding campaign.

We all know this is ‘THE CLIMATE ELECTION’.
Be a part of this monumental movement and volunteer with a climate committed team working towards strong candidates supporting climate action policies.

Teams are needed for each electorate to hand out how to vote cards on the day of election as well as getting the word out Independents for Climate Action Now is a party offering a viable solution to the climate crisis.
To get involved sign up on the website.

ICAN T- shirts are now available for purchase on our website. Check them out here!

Jim Tait, having carefully considered what is best for the Party and in close consultation with both Rod Bower and Annette Schneider, has decided to relinquish the number one position on the Senate ticket in NSW. Jim, Annette and the Party Executive are unanimous in the view that Rod Bower, with his higher public profile, must be afforded the best opportunity to be elected at the upcoming election. All candidates agree to run Jim Tait as number two and Annette as number three on the NSW senate ticket. You our valued members have the right to vote on this. You can do this by emailing us your preferred order of our candidates in NSW.

So let’s the campaign begin….

For more information on what our candidates stand for see links below:

Rod Bower:
Jim Tait:
Twitter :
Annette Schneider:
Paul Wittwer:
Andy Lewis:

Copyright © Independents for Climate Action Now All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
P.O Box 716 Mullumbimby NSW 2482