States & Authorities


The 32 States of Australia are:


The five Sub-States are:


The 'Super-States' introduced here are:

There are 'other things' as important as the issues implied by the recognition of these 'Super-States', but because they can be handled by one State alone, do not require Super-State recognition. The Super-State is where more than one State needs to act in concert, for real changes to occur.

There are important Super-State requirements not mentioned here, because the arrangement will need to be worked out. Fishing, for instance, may result in a number of Super-States, depending on the need for various States to act in concert, to protect the maritime environments around Australia. Zones may overlap; so a State may be involved in more than one Super-State, on a particular issue.

An issue that affects all Australians, such as foreign policy, defence, border protection, is usually a Federal Government issue, but not always. The Super-State 'All States' is where there is clearly a 'State' issue but it applies to all States, or requires all States to act in concert for the plan to proceed. A good example is fishing; fishing is obviously, and needs to be, State-based1 but all States need to act in concert in relation to protection of the border from poaching from international waters.

Special Super-State Senators elected by voters in 'All States' are State-based, not Federal, positions.


Water Basin Authorities

Water in Australia is to be regulated by 32 Basin Authorities: